half the time, double the benefits; The 3-2-1 workout

Indiana University has great hills for running, and I’ve definitely been taking advantage of them this year. However, I’ve started to realize that the long runs I’ve been going on haven’t been doing too much for my body. I’ve adapted to the vigorous activity and my heart rate has not been very high because it’s so used to the workout and it’s not much of a difficulty.So I decided to start getting use of the personal gym we have in our dorm. Yes, I’m a bit spoiled here, but I chose to be part of the fitness and wellness dorms to have the opportunity to have a gym in the area I live in. It’s not that big, but it has everything I need!
Anyways, I’ve been incorporating HIIT workouts that take half the time. This workout is based off of the 3-2-1 workout that takes about 40-50 minutes depending on the exercises you choose! the best part is that it goes by FAST and is much more beneficial than hour long runs. Here are a couple examples of the 3-2-1 workouts. I highly encourage them if you’ve been getting bored and want to see results!

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 12.40.48 PM

(<– CLICK pictures GET A BIGGER PICTURE & PRINT OUT)Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 12.35.13 PMAs you can see, there are 3 cardio intervals, 2 strength intervals and 1 ab interval. I’ve been switching up doing arms and legs days and then doing one interval arms and one interval legs. My stomach has felt more toned, and I feel more motivated knowing I have different exercises to incorporate that will work more of my body.

I didn’t add the weight of the dumbbells because that’s up to you. Challenge yourself, but make sure you are able to finish your reps. You can modify this workout with different exercises. But keeping the structure of the routine is key! I hope you try it and let me know how it goes. I’ve been doing this type of workout for the past two weeks and I love it! I can tell my fitness is improving and my endurance is getting stronger with weight movements and intervals!

With these workouts you will see results and end up burning more fat with the high intensity interval training. Challenge yourself with speeds and weights to see results when it starts getting easy!!

6 Comments

Filed under Fitness

6 responses to “half the time, double the benefits; The 3-2-1 workout

  1. Thanks for the workouts. I didn’t even think that the reason my heart rate is staying so low was because of a plateau. I have been doing the same spinning class for three months now, 4-5 times a week and I think my body has just settled. I took screenshots of these workouts on my phone. Will be completing them this weekend for sure :) Thanks for sharing!!

  2. That’s what Jillian Michaels does in her 30 Day Shred and Ripped in 30 DVD’s, except she does 3 minutes of strength, 2 cardio, and 1 abs. It’s a tough but efficient work out and I love that it is done is so little time.

  3. Thanks for sharing this, I can’t seem to be able to get on a routine, but these look quite good to me

  4. Pingback: A cookie thats good for you?? you’ve gotta be kiddin’ | Health Advocation

  5. I love the trails at our local state park in Indiana. As soon as the snow melts I can’t wait to hit them again. Thanks for sharing the workouts!

Leave a Reply

